Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: [SOLVED] ZA web search not working. --> Reset Firefox profile

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6

    Default [SOLVED] ZA web search not working. --> Reset Firefox profile

    The ZoneAlarm search isn't working for me, using FireFox, as in returning zero (0) results no mater what I enter as search terms.
    I got the same results with the search boxes in FireFox's toolbar, the ZA tool bar and the one on the Home Page, any ideas?

    Eric

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: ZA web search not working.

    Quote Originally Posted by Elric View Post
    The ZoneAlarm search isn't working for me, using FireFox, as in returning zero (0) results no mater what I enter as search terms.
    I got the same results with the search boxes in FireFox's toolbar, the ZA tool bar and the one on the Home Page, any ideas?

    Eric
    Hmmm.. it took me 10 seconds to find this Firefox post 9 messages down from your own post..

    Firefox blocked despite settings to the contrary Started by zoobos, 6 Days Ago

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,473

    Default Re: ZA web search not working.

    Hmmm. Second verse same as the first..

    The More information you post the more likely users here will be able to understand the issue and try to help.

    In the "Search" box for the Free Zone Alarm Topic area,

    as a Test, I typed (Firefox) and clicked Search and your post and my first Reply showed up as the first two listings at the top of the list of messages found.. it too about 15 seconds..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; January 29th, 2014 at 07:47 AM. Reason: fix typo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: ZA web search not working.

    That doesn't sound like my problem at all.
    FireFox works fine, as do searches using Google, Bing and Yahoo.
    It's just the default search engine set by ZA-free on installation "Search By ZoneAlarm" and the search boxes in the ZoneAlarm Toolbar and on the default Homepage that find nothing, even for common words that get 56,000,000 hits with Google.
    It's not a critical problem, I can always just use Google, it just seemed odd.
    On a previous attemt to install ZA-Free it returned a list of three (I think) search portals but no actual search results.(This is preferable, though just as useless.)
    It seems as though the search terms aren't getting through to the search engine or something, if I enter eg. "tor" I get:

    ----------------
    Did you mean:



    Ads by Google


    Search related to tor


    Web results


    Ads by Google
    -----------------
    with just a single space after the "Did you mean:"
    I'm using Win 8.1 by the way, probably should have mentioned it earlier.

    Eric

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: ZA web search not working.

    I've now tried GeorgeV's suggestion from the other thread about resetting the settings, just in case, but nothing changed.

    ZA's "About" shows:
    --------------------------------------------------------
    ZoneAlarm Free Antivirus + Firewall version: 12.0.118.000
    Vsmon version: 12.0.118.000
    Driver version: 12.0.102.000
    Antivirus engine version: 8.3.2.4
    Antivirus signature DAT file version: 1144667168

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Eric

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: ZA web search not working.

    Try to fully remove ZA and check search works as it should. If not, it's not ZA the issue. If is then simply install ZA without the toolbar. At install select "skip all". Check the forum on how to do it if you cannot manage, it has been discussed several times.

    thanks,
    fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: ZA web search not working.

    Well, uninstalling ZA didn't change anything (except that without the toolbar I, naturaly, couldn't search via the toolbar.)

    I wouldn't mind using ZoneAlarm Search if it worked, but if I can't get it to work it is rather pointless.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: ZA web search not working.

    Well you need first to fix the system then you can install the toolbar back. You need tofully reset Firefox, delete your Firefox profile in the PC and then reinstall it fresh. For a clean install of Firefox check their knowledge base.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: ZA web search not working.

    Ok, that fixed it, thanks.

    Any idea what might have caused it?
    It seems odd that it was only the ZA search that seemed to be affected, and it still doesn't work in Internet Explorer, I don't think I'll bother reinstalling IE though, I don't use it much.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,292

    Default Re: ZA web search not working.

    Many different causes can affect the search engines. From visiting a web site to installing an application.
    Impossible to diagnose without been in front of the PC and knowing exactly what was done from the date in which it was working correctly.

    For resetting IE see here:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923737

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; January 28th, 2014 at 01:06 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: November 12th, 2013, 07:56 AM
  2. [SOLVED] User Profile can't be loaded (again)
    By julieinsc in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 29th, 2012, 06:13 AM
  3. Clearing virtual data creates new Firefox profile?
    By miniyeti in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: April 19th, 2011, 04:11 PM
  4. [SOLVED] Connection Reset? --> firefox proxy
    By MrThrashy in forum Common Program Settings
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 23rd, 2010, 07:35 PM
  5. Reset Firefox / Reset when using ForceField
    By Sky Soldiers in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 19th, 2010, 01:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •