Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    I installed ZoneAlarm Free Firewall 12.0.121.000 on my Windows 8.1 64bit computer.



    The Pop Up alert window shown at the right bottom area, but totally cannot click.


    I tried to use different screen resolutions also cannot click or drag the pop up alert window. See attached file.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,865

    Cool Re: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    Quote Originally Posted by tackyew View Post
    I installed ZoneAlarm Free Firewall 12.0.121.000 on my Windows 8.1 64bit computer.



    The Pop Up alert window shown at the right bottom area, but totally cannot click.


    I tried to use different screen resolutions also cannot click or drag the pop up alert window. See attached file.
    Hello;


    ALL our Windows 7 and windows 8.1 PC's here at ZoneAlarm are set to 100% not 125% (100% is the default windows setting)

    So something in your installations are all wrong and are not default.

    This was NEVER a ZA issue at all.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,672

    Default Re: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    Yes, set the DPI at 100% instead of 125% or 150% and you will be fine. Or move the taskbar on top. Please also search the board before posting as this has been posted numerous times.

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...reenresolution

    It seems also you have altered the default settings of ZA since Microsoft certified executables should be given automatic permission. Otherwise you can easily break the OS.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Yes, set the DPI at 100% instead of 125% or 150% and you will be fine. Or move the taskbar on top. Please also search the board before posting as this has been posted numerous times.

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...reenresolution

    It seems also you have altered the default settings of ZA since Microsoft certified executables should be given automatic permission. Otherwise you can easily break the OS.
    Unfortunately while I'm grateful for the hint about the taskbar to top hint that IS a problem of ZoneAlarm because ... 125 DPI is the default setting of Windows 8.1 on netbooks and ultrabooks and such aka everything with a smaller but wide screen. And it is not very convenient to have to place the taskbar in these at the top (interferes with program bars and windows 8.1 Metro functionality based on top bars of windows, hard to do with another bar on top). Furthermore the writing is really hard to read in the Zonealarm popup under DPI 125, very blurry/fuzzy. And it is not feasible to use DPI 100 on these screen types as the letters are way too small.
    I'm not a Zonealarm paid user (yet) but I think Checkpoint should be aware of that issue.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,796

    Default Re: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    Thank you very much for your input and description.

    We have logged the issue as a bug.

    We would like to know the make and model of the PC/tablet your using that has this issue.

    Does it have a touchscreen?

    Thank you

    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    Hi Moderator:

    Thank you very much for your help.
    My laptop is HP Envy TouchSmart 15-j127tx Notebook PC.
    Yes, it is touchscreen computer, Windows 8.1 64bit, 15.6" FHD touchscreen with 1920x1080 resolution.

    You may visit http://www.hp.com.sg website and look for product number F7Q47PA for further details about this laptop.

    Once again, thank you very much!

    Quote Originally Posted by Forum-Moderator View Post
    Thank you very much for your input and description.

    We have logged the issue as a bug.

    We would like to know the make and model of the PC/tablet your using that has this issue.

    Does it have a touchscreen?

    Thank you

    Forum Moderator

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    San Carlos, California
    Posts
    1,796

    Default Re: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    Thank you for the info on your PC.

    Forum Moderator
    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #8

    Exclamation Re: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    Sorry for necromancing, but the issue persists today.
    I just installed ZoneAlarm (didn't use it since early XP days, the mass of popups were too much for puberty-me back then).

    Anyway, I have a DPI set to 100%, windows 7, SP1.
    I do use 2 (sometimes 3, if the oculus rift counts) different monitors with different aspect ratios, with my 120Hz 16:9 Monitor being the main display.
    Here's a screenshot, which captures the problem perfectly:


    The problem is that, with ZoneAlarm's current design, it correctly anchors the bottom right corner of the popup on the right side of the current screen... but on the bottom side of the lowest vertical resolution of all connected monitors.
    For me this is a big issue, given that there seem to be no settings to change the popup behaviour.

    What should be changed:
    A) Add an offset setting, which will fix the problem for everyone, regardless of their preferred DPI and display setup.
    B) pull the correct vertical position from the CURRENT/MAIN display.
    C) place the allow/deny buttons on top of the alarm popup. (not recommended, bad interaction design)
    D) add keypress info for the buttons (Y / A = allow, N / D = deny) ... You just need to see the buttons once and you know what choice the popup gives you

    ---
    on a side note: "Remember this setting" doesn't work for * :P
    Maya Licensing and CleamMem ("process opening behaviours") keep reappearing endlessly... very annoying
    Last edited by KevinGelking; September 22nd, 2014 at 07:46 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,865

    Default Re: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    Hello;

    The More information you post more likely other users here will be able to help and suggest potential remedial actions.

    What Type and Version # of Zone Alarm did you install?

    Right click the ZA icon near the clock --> About --> Copy to Clipboard --> Paste in a reply here. Mind to remove the license key (if applicable).

    Any Other security Programs Name and Version #installed?

    is this a Desktop PC? or Laptop? or Netbook?

    Regards;
    Guru GeorgeV

  10. #10
    Sky Soldiers Guest

    Default Re: Pop up alert window cannot be clicked

    FWIW: On Win 7/64 Desktop using current version 13.3.052.000

    Display: 20-Inch Diagonal Screen; 16:9 Aspect Ratio; 1600 x 900 resolution

    Resolution: 1600x900 (recommended)

    Orientation: Landscape

    In order for me to be able to read text.Change from 100% (default) to the following:

    Meddium -125%

    Set custom text size (DPI).Custom DPI Setting to scale 125% 9 point Segoe UI at 120 pixels per inch.

    Box checked/enable.Use Windows XP style DPI scaling.

    No issue to see alert popups at bottom right of screen.This might not work for all wide16:9 Aspect Ratio displays, but works for me.

    Note: Before had to use Taskbar location on screen: Top
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; September 22nd, 2014 at 10:02 AM. Reason: Note, reword

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZA alert window too low
    By window in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: January 2nd, 2015, 10:50 AM
  2. Alert Window
    By Envsion in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 25th, 2010, 03:11 PM
  3. Alert window hidden - locks computer
    By flyemj in forum Common Program Settings
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: September 5th, 2006, 03:27 PM
  4. ZA alert window licence expired?
    By revrob in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 18th, 2006, 09:25 PM
  5. Security Alert Window Fills Screen
    By bwpanda in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 29th, 2006, 04:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •