Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Application Blocked - Bose SoundTouch

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014

    Default Application Blocked - Bose SoundTouch

    Hi !

    I use the Bose SoundTouch 20.

    And I get an error with their SoundTouch App. I have spent a lot of time trying to find the reason for my error (1608 Service Unavailble) when trying to access my music library through this app.

    I use Zonealarm as my firewall.

    Only when I completely shut down Zone Alarm (after about 10 seconds) music streams just fine through this app to the speaker. So everything works normal then.

    The setup is as follows:

    The speaker is wireless and streams music from you music library to the speaker. For that you install an application that is called SoundTouch. With that another application called Sound Music Server runs in the background.

    When I start up Zone Alarm again I get the same error right back. Oddly enough when Zone Alarm is still active but I disable the Firewall and Program control completely the error is still there. That makes no sense.

    I have done everything possible I can think of in Zone Alarm to allow full access for SoundTouchApp and SoundTouch MusicServer which are both required to stream music wireless to the speaker.

    I did this under ZoneAlarm -> Computer -> Application Control -> View Programs -> "set both apps to super and full trust level with all boxes ticked on green"

    I have never had any issues whatsoever with ZA regarding any application. It seems it makes no sense why Music streaming only works when ZoneAlarm is completely shut down.

    Any ideas what the reason could be from the Firewall side?

    Thanks for the help
    Last edited by GeorgeV; March 16th, 2014 at 05:16 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas

    Default Re: Application Blocked - Bose SoundTouch


    Which Type and Version of ZA Firewall?

    Right click the ZA icon near the clock --> About --> Copy to Clipboard --> Paste in a reply here. Mind to remove the license key (if applicable).

    Exact version of Windows OS used? XP SP?, Windows 7 SP?. Windows 8?8.1?
    Localized version? English version?
    Other security Programs running on the PC? Laptop?

    More information you post more likely other users here will be able to help and suggest potential remedial actions.
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014

    Default Re: Application Blocked - Bose SoundTouch

    Thanks for your reply. Details are as follows:

    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version:
    Vsmon version:
    Driver version:
    Antivirus engine version:
    Antivirus signature DAT file version: 1148239008
    AntiSpam version:
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.396.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner:

    Windows 7 SP1 English Version
    No other security progs running
    Desktop PC

  4. #4
    Sky Soldiers Guest

    Default Re: Application Blocked - Bose SoundTouch

    Google "Service Unavailable" message (1608) for info.

    Check the Bose SoundTouch Forum also.

    Try SoundTouch App again.Then check the Log Viewer to see what IP address and corresponding port is being Blocked by the Firewall.

    The easiest way to add something to the Trusted Zone is to go to Tools | Logs | Log Viewer and see if the IP address, network, host, or site has shown up in the logs. Right-click it and choose Add to Zone | Trusted.

    Helpful link :

    No other suggestions to offer.If you have valid current license.Contact Support :
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; March 17th, 2014 at 09:05 AM. Reason: Added link, Forum

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014

    Default Re: Application Blocked - Bose SoundTouch

    Thanks for the answer. That brings me closer. I think I have nearly got it.
    I just dont fully understand what or which zone to add.

    So far I added IP address as an exception but makes no difference. Please have a look at this log.

    What exactly should I be doing, which IP or range of ports where and how to except?

    Right clicking on those and set to trusted made also no difference.
    Any idea?


    Thanks for the help

    Posted this already on Bose Forum:

  6. #6
    Sky Soldiers Guest

    Default Re: Application Blocked - Bose SoundTouch

    Sorry, I misread your current version.

    Before going any farther.Update your version to

    You can download your version from here:

    Added Info:

    Once you update to version can add the following.You Can do it from Advanced Firewall > View Zones click Add and select IP Address. and are private addresses on your network and should be added to Trusted Zone in Advanced Firewall.

    Required IP Address.Add to Trusted Zone in Firewall. port 1900 UDP Simple Service Discovery Protocol (SSDP)

    See here for info :

    And here. Network Ports used by SoundTouch (full list) :

    Out of suggestion here.Other user can chime in, or contact Support.
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; March 17th, 2014 at 09:54 PM. Reason: Added info, typo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004

    Default Re: Application Blocked - Bose SoundTouch

    .... and please start fresh. First fully remove the old ZA version then install the latest. It is the safest approach when moving up to new major releases.


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  8. #8
    Sky Soldiers Guest

    Default Re: Application Blocked - Bose SoundTouch

    Thanks Fax, Forgot to mention that.

    Also, Make sure to install in C:\ drive.The same partition as the Windows OS and in Administrator Account.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Windows NT logon application blocked
    By bertiemcdonald in forum Security Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 22nd, 2007, 07:54 AM
  2. Repeated "Blocked Access" messages - but computers blocked are in the trusted zone!
    By rootertooter in forum Windows and ZoneAlarm Messages and Alerts
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2006, 05:38 PM
  3. how do I find the application that data has been blocked?
    By datribe in forum Security Issues
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 29th, 2006, 03:25 PM
  4. Entire site is blocked just because Banner/Skyscraper ads are blocked by ZA
    By valiant in forum Anti-spam & Parental Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 16th, 2006, 09:04 AM
  5. blocked application on localhost:1200
    By nifsmith in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: January 31st, 2006, 04:02 AM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts