Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: ZA blocking internet access through DHCP

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,655

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    Can't answer if you censor all numbers... Please leave most of it except last ".". There is no security risk. Please relax.
    As already indicated please specify exactly what you see in ZA firewall zones.

    With the information you have provided I can only wild guess that:

    The network you see in ZA 42.X.X.X/255.255.... should be set as public/Internet.
    DHCP server: 1.X.X.X should be added to the ZA firewall zones (if not already there) as TRUSTED
    The two DNS IPs 218.X.X.X should be added to the ZA firewall zone as TRUSTED.

    With this setup you should have no problem. Remember: DO NOT change any other firewall settings.
    After a week or two of use move the ZA application control (not firewall settings!) to HIGH instead of the current.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; March 31st, 2014 at 12:22 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Can't answer if you censor all numbers... Please leave most of it except last ".". There is no security risk. Please relax.
    As already indicated please specify exactly what you see in ZA firewall zones.

    With the information you have provided I can only wild guess that:

    The network you see in ZA 42.X.X.X/255.255.... should be set as public/Internet.
    DHCP server: 1.X.X.X should be added to the ZA firewall zones (if not already there) as TRUSTED
    The two DNS IPs 218.X.X.X should be added to the ZA firewall zone as TRUSTED.

    With this setup you should have no problem. Remember: DO NOT change any other firewall settings.
    After a week or two of use move the ZA application control (not firewall settings!) to HIGH instead of the current.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    It seems to me that DHCP server : 1.x.x.x is added automatically to the ZA firewall zone as TRUSTED without any pop up message. I try to reset my modem tonight and see what happen on this DHCP server.

    I am able to access internet with IP starting with 42.x.x.x, after a period, I cannot able to access internet and IP change to 169.254.x.x. I get no idea on what wrong it is, would it be ISP's server side problem? or would it be client's side problem with ZA firewall?

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
    Thanks, to everyone very much for any suggestions :>

    IP Address : 169.254.xxx.xxx Problem

  3. #23
    Sky Soldiers Guest

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    You could try the following.Your call.

    In the command prompt window, type "ipconfig /release" and press enter.Don't include the quotations. Make sure you have a space between ipconfig and the forward slash.

    Then type "cls" at the prompt to clear the screen.Don't include the quotation.

    Then type the following:

    In the command prompt window, type "ipconfig /renew" and press enter.Don't include the quotations.

    You should now have a new IP address.

    Then type "cls" at the prompt to clear the screen.Don't include the quotation.

    To check it, you can type "ipconfig /all" again and press enter.

    Did this change from what you had before.

    Exit the Command Prompt by typing "exit" and pressing enter.

    If you still having an issue.Try the following.

    Repair your network connection.See here:

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...ork-connection

    I have no idea what else to suggest.Other users might chime in with a better solution.
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; March 31st, 2014 at 05:01 AM. Reason: typo

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,655

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    Quote Originally Posted by oem7110 View Post
    It seems to me that DHCP server : 1.x.x.x is added automatically to the ZA firewall zone as TRUSTED without any pop up message. I try to reset my modem tonight and see what happen on this DHCP server.

    I am able to access internet with IP starting with 42.x.x.x, after a period, I cannot able to access internet and IP change to 169.254.x.x. I get no idea on what wrong it is, would it be ISP's server side problem? or would it be client's side problem with ZA firewall?

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
    Thanks, to everyone very much for any suggestions :>

    IP Address : 169.254.xxx.xxx Problem
    Also check in the ZA firewall logs if you see any specific IP been blocked at the time when you have been disconnected. ISP may send the so called heartbits to check you are still online and it fails (for whatever reasons) and then it disconnect you to release the IP to someone else. Add that IP(s) that you see blocked in the ZA logs to the ZA trusted zone. Also remember to add the two DNS IPs to the ZA trusted zone.
    Last edited by fax; March 31st, 2014 at 06:17 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Also check in the ZA firewall logs if you see any specific IP been blocked at the time when you have been disconnected. ISP may send the so called heartbits to check you are still online and it fails (for whatever reasons) and then it disconnect you to release the IP to someone else. Add that IP(s) that you see blocked in the ZA logs to the ZA trusted zone. Also remember to add the two DNS IPs to the ZA trusted zone.
    Could you please tell me where to locate the log file?
    Furthermore, there is a few lines under ipconfig /all as shown below

    Lease Obtained .... Apr 01, 2014 12:29 AM
    Lease Expires .... Apr 01, 2014 12:59 AM

    Image
    http://i1093.photobucket.com/albums/...ps367c6819.jpg

    When I watch video online, it is about 30 minutes before fail to access internet, does anyone have any suggestions on what lease is about?


    Does anyone have any suggestions?
    Thanks, to everyone very much for any suggestions :>

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,655

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    Hi!

    for logs you go to ZA tools --> Logs --> dropdown menu and choose "firewall", also check the others sections (OS firewall, program, etc) for anything unusual.

    Under firewall logs see at the time of lease if you see any connection been blocked.

    Yes, lease time is weird. Can you access the configuration of your modem? It may come from there or directly from your ISP (?). In essence you are forced to get a new IP every 30 minutes. This is why you see the connection dropping after 30 minutes. Normally ISP do not set this lease but may be you have a particular connection... no idea.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    Quote Originally Posted by fax View Post
    Hi!
    Yes, lease time is weird. Can you access the configuration of your modem? It may come from there or directly from your ISP (?). In essence you are forced to get a new IP every 30 minutes. This is why you see the connection dropping after 30 minutes. Normally ISP do not set this lease but may be you have a particular connection... no idea.
    Do you have any suggestions on why we need to set this lease period?
    If I can set 30 minutes or 1 month, which one is better?
    Would modem be updated the lease period automatically? or do I need to manually update this lease period by resetting the modem?
    
    Thank you very much for suggestions :>

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,655

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    Sorry, for this you need to check with your ISP. Normally there is no lease.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    38

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    Thanks, to everyone very much for suggestions :>

  10. #30
    Sky Soldiers Guest

    Default Re: ZA blocking internet access through DCHP

    Quote Originally Posted by Sky Soldiers View Post
    Using the Network Configuration Wizard:
    For clarification purpose only in thread #8.

    Using the Network Configuration Wizard:

    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/in...ig_wizard.html

    I was giving correct info from Help since OP using XP SP3.Some parts of ZoneAlarm Help are outdated and have not being revised.

    Any other OS read here:

    https://www.zonealarm.com/forums/sho...emoved-in-v-10
    Last edited by Sky Soldiers; April 5th, 2014 at 10:02 PM. Reason: Added Wizard link

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] Blocking DHCP! The internet keeps on disconnecting me!
    By aa2 in forum ZoneAlarm Free Firewall
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 23rd, 2013, 07:52 PM
  2. Vista Home Prem SP1 32 bit, DHCP, Trusted vs Internet - NO ACCESS
    By johnnydingo in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 22nd, 2008, 03:30 AM
  3. Blocking internet access in high Internet Security Zone
    By krzysiekj in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 26th, 2008, 11:50 PM
  4. Blocking access to my LAN while allowing access to the Internet
    By leebo in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2007, 07:27 PM
  5. Stanby prevents internet access, problem re DHCP and DNS
    By jonathanz in forum Access Issues
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: March 21st, 2007, 09:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •