Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [SOLVED] ZAES v11 blocking access to COM port --> Updated to latest version

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default [SOLVED] ZAES v11 blocking access to COM port --> Updated to latest version

    Hi there,

    I am using the Arduino microcontroller application which requires access to a USB-COM port. ZA blocks this port and I don't know how to keep ZA from blocking it.
    The USB-COM port is basically a serial port the application uses to upload software to the external microcontroller.

    Operation system Win8 64bit
    ZA Extrem Security 11.0.000.020

    Thank you for your help in advance!

    Erwin

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,655

    Default Re: ZAES v11 blocking access to COM port

    Hi!

    first of all please note we are all users here, no ZA official support. The version of ZA Extreme you use is extremely outdated and currently not supported.
    Therefore to be able to troubleshoot the issue you will need:

    1. Take note of the ZAX license key and remove ZAX from window8 uninstall a program.
    2. Reboot the PC
    3. Double check you don't have any other ZA related entries in the windows 8 program list. if yes, remove them.
    4. Download the new ZA removal tool from: http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...load/clean.exe and save to the desktop
    5. Run the removal tool
    6. Reboot the PC
    7. Double-check windows 8 firewall is turned ON (ZA will turn it OFF at install). Now check if the system works correctly including your USB-COM port. If not, then its not a ZA related issue.
    8. Please remove any other security tool you have installed vefore proceeding further even if you think it does not conflict with ZA (e.g. malwarebytes, spybot, other AVs, other antispyware, etc)
    9. Download the latest version of the ZA Extreme you find here:http://server.iad.liveperson.net/hc/...10&action=view
    10. Please note that during the installation process you need to have an active internet connection to ensure ZA will configure itself correctly.
    11. Run the new ZA installer and install with default settings (you can UNcheck the toolbar if you wish so)
    12. Without changing any ZA default settings try now if you have still problems with the USB-COM port.


    Finally also note that arduino pages makes reference to potential problems. Here: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting
    So you may not be able to resolve the issue as its a known incompatibility.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; April 1st, 2014 at 08:23 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: ZAES v11 blocking access to COM port

    Fax,

    Thanks for your advice. I following it step-by-step and Arduino is now working with ZAES uninstalled and the Windows firewall active.

    Unfortunately after downloading the latest ZAES installer "ZASPSetup_130_208_000" it doesn't install. Somehow the installer crashes.

    Here is how far I get:
    - I open the installer
    - Windows "User Account Control" asks me if the program should be allowed to make changes to the computer.
    - I click "Yes"
    - Nothing happens...

    Slightly desperate here!!!

    Erwin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default ZA installer ZASPSetup_130_208_000 crashes

    Hi everyone!

    I de-installed ZAES v11, ran the ZA cleaner, downloaded the latest ZAES installer "ZASPSetup_130_208_000" but unfortunately the installer crashes.

    Here is how far I get:
    - I open the installer
    - Windows "User Account Control" asks me if the program should be allowed to make changes to the computer.
    - I click "Yes"
    - The installer disappears/crashes and nothing happens...

    I disabled the Windows firewall but got same negative results.

    OS - Win8, 64-bit, Samsung laptop

    Had ZAES v11 running on the machine before without problems.

    Slightly desperate here!!!

    Erwin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,655

    Default Re: ZAES v11 blocking access to COM port

    This only points to other issues on the system than ZA or the ZA installer is incomplete/corrupted.

    Double check that the size of the installer is correct. Delete it and download it fresh. Or use the webinstaller that you find here: http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/fr...30_208_000.exe

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; April 10th, 2014 at 05:56 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: ZAES v11 blocking access to COM port

    Thanks Fax!

    Web-installer worked and so does Arduino now!

    Erwin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,655

    Default Re: ZAES v11 blocking access to COM port

    I am happy to hear the problem is solved and thank you for taking the time to report back. I will revise the thread title and close it.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] Scan Timers run wrong scans, etc. --> Updated to latest version
    By MrThrashy in forum ZoneAlarm Configuration
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 14th, 2012, 11:07 PM
  2. [SOLVED] ZA Suite & ZoneAlarm Security Engine --> Updated ZA to latest version
    By Pierre22 in forum Web Security/Security Toolbar/Do Not Track
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 19th, 2011, 03:03 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: November 12th, 2011, 10:16 AM
  4. [SOLVED] PC freezes - ZA Suite10.0.246 --> updated to latest version
    By RobAllen in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 13th, 2011, 01:03 PM
  5. [SOLVED] vsmon.exe*32 slows computer Vista 64 -> updated to latest version
    By Rodeo in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2011, 10:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •