Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Blank entries in component control list

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    3

    Default Blank entries in component control list

    Hi there.

    I enabled Component Control a couple of weeks ago and left Application Control set at Auto so that ZoneAlarm would collect a list of my normally-used components before I changed it to Max security. To clarify, I went to Computer → Application Control → Settings → Advanced Settings → Application Control. Then I ticked the box “Enable Component Control”.

    Today I went into the same area and clicked on the View Components tab. ZoneAlarm has definitely been collecting a list of components, but more than half the list is blank! When sorting by component name, the first ~370 entries have no name or description. The Access setting for all of these is a red “X” (which is good), but why are all these entries there at all? Any ideas?

    I’m guessing that perhaps it’s because of program upgrades and that these rows represent components that used to be on my computer but don’t exist anymore. The more paranoid part of my persona wonders if it’s some sort of rootkit or botnet that’s masking it’s identity so that I can’t detect or remove it…

    On a related point (perhaps better directed to the developers than the forums):
    I tried removing these blank entries from the components list, but unlike the View Programs tab you can’t select multiple entries on the components list and remove them all at once. You can’t even just keep clicking on the “Remove” button once for each list item because clicking on the Remove button takes the focus off the list. To remove multiple items, you actually have to click on each individual row, click Remove, then click the next row, click Remove, etc, etc. That’s a lot of mouse moves & clicks!

    My relevant info (feel free to ask for more):
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit Version 6.1 (Build 7601: Service Pack 1)
    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security version: 10.2.074.000
    Vsmon version: 10.2.074.000
    Driver version: 10.0.217.000
    Antivirus engine version: 8.2.11.97
    Antivirus signature DAT file version: 1093632000
    AntiSpam version: 6.3.1.4973
    ZoneAlarm Browser Security: 1.5.395.0
    ZoneAlarm ForceField Spyware Scanner: 1.2.104.0

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,678

    Default Re: Blank entries in component control list

    Hi!

    I guess the best is to report directly to official support. May be issue with incorrect saving of applications and settings or an issue with ZA.

    I normally don't use this option, so I would not be able to help. You can activate the other advance features but this can create an excessive overcharge to the system and likely many pop-ups as soon as you move the application control to MAX. More relevant are the other settings (e.g. time attack, advance application interaction, etc.)

    You should remove the blank entries and see if they will come back. If yes, and you have not removed or reinstalled programs, then report to support. They may or may not need to collect logs.

    What you could also do, first of all, is to do a fresh install of the latest version 10.2.078.000 (FIRST remove ZA from win7 "uninstall a program" and install the latest). Looking for the latest version?

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; September 15th, 2012 at 01:17 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Blank entries in component control list

    I am also getting this same exact issue with the latest version of ZAP (see info below) - I also have component control enabled.

    I tried deleting the 100+ entries and they just come right back.

    I thought maybe this was due to some corruption, so I completely uninstalled ZAP and reinstalled it *and* and did NOT import and settings. I redid all settings from scratch. Still happens.

    I hope ZA team will fix this because such a "leak/corruption" (what it appears it is) could be preventing proper operation of a part of ZA.

    ZoneAlarm Pro version: 13.0.208.000
    Vsmon version: 13.0.208.0
    Driver version: 13.0.70.0

    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1 Build 7601
    Dell XPS Desktop PC

    Norton Antivirus 21.2.0.38

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,851

    Default Re: Blank entries in component control list

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnCody View Post
    I am also getting this same exact issue with the latest version of ZAP (see info below) - I also have component control enabled.

    I tried deleting the 100+ entries and they just come right back.

    I thought maybe this was due to some corruption, so I completely uninstalled ZAP and reinstalled it *and* and did NOT import and settings. I redid all settings from scratch. Still happens.

    I hope ZA team will fix this because such a "leak/corruption" (what it appears it is) could be preventing proper operation of a part of ZA.

    ZoneAlarm Pro version: 13.0.208.000
    Vsmon version: 13.0.208.0
    Driver version: 13.0.70.0

    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1 Build 7601
    Dell XPS Desktop PC

    Norton Antivirus 21.2.0.38
    Hi;

    1.) You are injecting your issue into a different set of circumstances that was posted nearly TWO years ago dealing with ZA Extreme Version 10.2.074.000..

    2.) If the original Posters issue from 2 years ago still existed in the New ZA Extreme or ever the new ZA Pro versions this Forum would be Flooded with post about it..

    3.) Your issue could be a result of corruption or configuration of the Software on your Own computer..

    4.) This Zone Alarm Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with Zone Alarm and need to be guided in the right direction to answer Questions about Zone Alarm..

    Sorry, ZA Development does not Read or Monitor this ZA User Supported Forum..

    *** Please review the Advice and instructions provided by Guru Fax..
    GeorgeV
    ZoneAlarm® Extreme Security


    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday__ 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,678

    Default Re: Blank entries in component control list

    As suggested to the OP, next stop is the official technical support to report the issue. Sorry, no use to post the "Mee too" here. More reports by users to official support more likely development may look at this before than later. No report, no fix. And by experience, turning on that option just add more overheads to the system with little value for security. Not worth unless you are happy spending the time on pop-ups and possible conflicts

    Please avoid posting in outdated threats.

    Thanks,
    Fax
    Last edited by fax; May 8th, 2014 at 08:38 AM.

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. problem removing entries from programs list
    By avianrand in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 1st, 2010, 10:06 PM
  2. My mobile code list has has no entries? This has never ha...
    By grandmere in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 30th, 2008, 04:33 AM
  3. Obsolte entries in Program Control list
    By paradiddle in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 24th, 2007, 08:21 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 23rd, 2007, 12:37 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •