Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Getting "Product Update: Error" after new clean install

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    23

    Default Getting "Product Update: Error" after new clean install

    I recently had to uninstall ZAP in order to install the new 211 update because the silly installer didn't provide a "Custom" install option and instead said "INSTALL using default settings", but who's "Default" zonealarm's (that installs the toolbar and tries to set itself as my default homepage and search), or my "Existing" settings that I already setup?

    So, to be safe, I did an export of my settings, uninstalled ZAP, rebooted, then install ZAP 211 and did an import.

    Everything seems to be working fine, except that when I click "Update", it gives the error "Product update: Error".

    I see nothing in the log file of any blocked packets.

    Any ideas?

    ZoneAlarm Pro version: 13.1.211.000
    Vsmon version: 13.1.211.0
    Driver version: 13.1.123.0

    Win7/64 SP1
    Dell XPS

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,677

    Default Re: Getting "Product Update: Error" after new clean install

    I see the same error here on a different ZA... so it looks normal. For this type of errors it would be best anyway to contact directly the ZA official support as we have no info on specific behaviour that may be by design.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    23

    Default Re: Getting "Product Update: Error" after new clean install

    Did you mean to say "so there's definitely something wrong with ZA's update process" instead of saying "it looks normal" because getting an error message when checking for an update I would not think is "normal" in any context.

    I know for a fact that the previous 208 version worked as expected (said "your product is up to date".)

    I will contact tech support.
    Last edited by fax; May 23rd, 2014 at 10:09 AM. Reason: quote

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    localhost
    Posts
    17,677

    Default Re: Getting "Product Update: Error" after new clean install

    I am saying that you are not alone and it may be normal. In other words it may not be linked at all to your importing/installing/etc. Product update servers may be down or just turned off.
    As there are no updated versions and antivirus updates works fine, its a minor issue with no impact whatsoever on ZA functionalities.

    No need to quote a text if you answer a message just above. Messaged edit to reduce space.

    Thanks,
    Fax

    Click here for ZA Support
    Monday-Saturday 6am to 10pm Central time
    Closed Sundays and Holidays

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 12th, 2013, 01:09 PM
  2. anti-virus update: "Task error"> ZA 7 & windows 2000 no longer Supported
    By fredhopkinsiii in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: January 2nd, 2013, 05:47 PM
  3. [SOLVED] ZASS "Error: Unable to install"
    By rfsharpe in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 22nd, 2010, 07:48 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 15th, 2010, 09:31 PM
  5. Extreme ver 9.0.083 ERROR: "cannot import .\jkuf_oar.reg" during install
    By keephoping in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 19th, 2009, 09:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •