Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    My buffalo NAS has a keep-alive service (nassvc.exe I think) which keeps the unit from powering down until my PC is shut down.

    This has worked no problem on my WIN XP/32 box for years, but does not work on a new Win7/64 system.

    For the avoidance of doubt, it is definitely ZA blocking this service because it is ok if I kill ZA. I have also checked that the nas programs have "super trusted" status.

    The trusted zone protection is "medium".

    I read somewhere it can be because ZA is starting after nassvc.exe, but I don't know how to change this.

    Can anyone help ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,866

    Default Re: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    Sorry, Nobody can even begin to help unless you give more details.

    The More information you post more likely other users here will be able to help and suggest potential remedial actions.

    FULL ZA Version information please.

    Copy from within ZA right click Z icon and select ABOUT.

    Remove your license information before posting please.

    Is Windows Fully updated with latest Service Packs and later Updates?

    Is "buffalo NAS" fully updated with latest update?

    Any Other security Programs running on the desktop PC? Laptop? Netbook?




    Thanks;
    Guru GeorgeV
    Last edited by GeorgeV; June 24th, 2014 at 05:46 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    Sorry, Nobody can even begin to help unless you give more details.

    The More information you post more likely other users here will be able to help and suggest potential remedial actions.

    Hello George, thanks for replying, info inserted below:

    FULL ZA Version information please.
    ZoneAlarm Free Antivirus + Firewall version: 13.1.211.000
    Vsmon version: 13.1.211.0
    Driver version: 13.1.123.0
    Antivirus engine version: 8.3.4.4

    Is Windows Fully updated with latest Service Packs and later Updates?
    Yes, religiously.

    Is "buffalo NAS" fully updated with latest update?
    Yes, automatically.

    Any Other security Programs running on the desktop PC? Laptop? Netbook?
    Desktop PC (Dell Optiplex) running Win7/64 Professional.
    AVG 2013.0.3485

    Many thanks
    G109B.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,866

    Default Re: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    Quote Originally Posted by G109B View Post
    Sorry, Nobody can even begin to help unless you give more details.

    The More information you post more likely other users here will be able to help and suggest potential remedial actions.

    Hello George, thanks for replying, info inserted below:

    FULL ZA Version information please.
    ZoneAlarm Free Antivirus + Firewall version: 13.1.211.000
    Vsmon version: 13.1.211.0
    Driver version: 13.1.123.0
    Antivirus engine version: 8.3.4.4

    Is Windows Fully updated with latest Service Packs and later Updates?
    Yes, religiously.

    Is "buffalo NAS" fully updated with latest update?
    Yes, automatically.

    Any Other security Programs running on the desktop PC? Laptop? Netbook?
    Desktop PC (Dell Optiplex) running Win7/64 Professional.
    AVG 2013.0.3485


    Many thanks
    G109B.
    Thank you for providing the Added information on your computer..

    1.) You have a Conflict by having TWO Antivirus programs installed..

    *** NOTICE: Please note that ZA Free +AV, ZA Pro + AV, ZASS and ZA Extreme Security do not play nice with many overlapping security tools (even if they are disabled).

    Just One, Not Two -- Never use two software Firewalls at the same time. Completely uninstall one before installing another. Use the vendor's uninstall utility or if not available, use the Windows XP/Win7/Win8 add/remove software tool in the control panel.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Just One, Not Two -- Never use two Anti-virus products at the same time. Completely uninstall one before installing another. Use the vendor's uninstall utility or if not available, use the Windows XP/Win7/Win8 add/remove software tool in the control panel.

    2.) You may have been Lucky if you managed to get "Buffalo NAS" to work with an older version of Zone Alarm FREE..


    Sorry, Zone Alarm does not have this NAS to test and troubleshoot with.

    Instead of contacting ZA support contact Buffalo support because they have the hardware on hand and can download and use our software for free.

    If they detect a bug they can contact us and we will work with them since they have the expensive hardware to test with.


    Forum Moderator
    3.) Sorry, Checkpoint offers no Official Support for users of the FREE Zone alarm other than help offered by users of the User Forum..

    I have no other Solution for your issue other than try another contact NAS Download site and check there site for a list of Free Firewalls that are compatible with NAS.

    Regards,
    Guru GeorgeV
    Last edited by GeorgeV; June 27th, 2014 at 02:19 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    As a ZA free user, I am posting here in the hope that someone at ZoneLabs gets to hear about their problem and is interested in fixing it
    ~snip~
    SO to come back to my original question:
    How can I get ZA to startup earlier in the boot sequence ?

    This is the one obvious difference between my Win7 and XP systems - Win7 has the ZA icon appearing last, whereas XP has it appearing very early in the sequence.

    Does anyone know how to do this ?
    Last edited by GeorgeV; June 27th, 2014 at 06:20 AM. Reason: Sorry TOS required some Offtopic comments removed

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,866

    Default Re: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    Sorry, We are all Users here in this User Supported Forum, Development and Tech support do not Monitor this User Forum,

    This Zone Alarm Forum exist to allow Volunteer experienced Zone Alarm Users to help the Few Users who encounter a problem with Zone Alarm and need to be guided in the right direction to answer Questions about Zone Alarm..

    SO to come back to my original question:
    How can I get ZA to startup earlier in the boot sequence ?
    I read somewhere it can be because ZA is starting after nassvc.exe, but I don't know how to change this.

    Can anyone help ?
    *** NOTICE:

    Sorry, Again you are confusing the Display of the "Z" Icon in the System tray with the startup of Zone Alarm, the "Z" Icon is an unimportant Graphic display not associated with the Startup of the ZA Firewall protection and is displayed at the end of the Startup process..

    when you install Zone Alarm, "Vsmon.exe" attaches itself to the Windows "NTKERNLE" Startup module, so the first thing that is loaded when Windows starts up is the Zone Alarm Firewall in the Background and when Windows Shuts down, Zone Alarm Firewall is the Last thing that Shuts down, so your computer is always protected... the "Z" Icon in the system tray is not part of the Firewall protection..

    Both Windows XP and Windows 7/8 use a different process in determining when and where to display Graphic Icons..

    Don't believe too much what you see in movies, don't be taken by paranoia by installing multiple Security programs that will lead to less security.

    Keep your Computer up to date (move to Windows 7 SP1 if you have not yet done so , or Windows 8.1),
    Use Windows update to download and install ALL critical and non-critical updates along with ALL optional updates.

    Note: Microsoft Support for Windows XP SP3 ENDED April 8, 2014)


    Regards;
    Guru GeorgeV
    Last edited by GeorgeV; June 27th, 2014 at 07:54 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    Thanks George, that clears that up then, so the simple question remains:

    Why does ZA silently stop nassrv.exe from prodding the NAS box when using Win7, while behaving correctly under WinXP ?

    Does anybody have a clue ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,866

    Default Re: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    Your welcome..

    I already answered that in my first Reply with a quote from the Forum Moderator..

    Sorry, Zone Alarm does not have this NAS to test and troubleshoot with.

    Instead of contacting ZA support contact Buffalo support because they have the hardware on hand and can download and use our software for free.

    If they detect a bug they can contact us and we will work with them since they have the expensive hardware to test with.


    Forum Moderator
    Regards;
    Guru GeorgeV
    Last edited by GeorgeV; July 5th, 2014 at 01:44 PM. Reason: fix typo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    Thank you for contacting the Buffalo Helpdesk.
    Unfortunately we would not support third party software so cannot test your issue. You should however be able to create rule within zone alarm to allow the Nas Navigator through butthis would be upto Zone Alarm support.

    LOL. That is how I thought it should work, but unfortunately not.

    Never mind, the turf wars have reached the stage where anti-virus providers include firewalls in their products, so the options are numerous. Pity though, I have been using ZoneAlarm since Win3.11

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The 3rd Coast - South Central Texas
    Posts
    10,866

    Default Re: Buffalo keep-alive blocked by ZA on Win7/64

    Sorry to hear that Buffalo Nas Navigator does not support 3rd party Software..
    Also you can't Open Ports or create Rules in the Free ZA version..

    Regards;
    Guru GeorgeV..
    Last edited by GeorgeV; June 27th, 2014 at 02:24 PM. Reason: fix typo

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: January 31st, 2012, 06:05 AM
  2. Keep a connection alive
    By donleckie in forum General - Questions that don't fit any other category
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 4th, 2007, 11:33 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 22nd, 2006, 09:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •