Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Using the Clean tool breaks my internet access

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Using the Clean tool breaks my internet access

    Hi,

    I am running Windows7, with ZoneAlarm installed.

    I was prompted to upgrade ZoneAlarm. When I tried to install the new version, I was prompted to uninstall the previous version, because it supposedly was not upgradeable.

    When I tried doing this, and restarting my PC, I had lost my internet access...which made the installation of the new version impossible.

    I used the Windows System Restore, to restore my system to a previous state, where I had internet access. But after that was done, although I had internet access, ZoneAlarm was not working at all.

    I tried installing the new version again, but got prompted to uninstall the previous version first...

    So, I searched online and found the Clean tool. I ran that, and after restarting my PC, I lost all internet access again.

    I tried the System Restore and Clean tool, process more than once, always resulting in me losing internet access after running the Clean tool.

    So, I can't uninstall ZoneAlarm, and I can't install the new version either...and the version that is supposedly installed won't run properly either.

    Can anyone help me?

    Thanks,
    Bruno

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    9,012

    Default Re: Using the Clean tool breaks my internet access

    Try in cmd (as admin) this

    pnputil -e

    lookfor any za driver in the list.

    try in cmd (as admin) this

    netshell winsock reset

    Also look at the properties of the network adapter for any listing of ZA.
    And make sure the correct or default DNS are listed in the IPv4 and IPv6 properties.

    Just a shot in the dark.
    Best regards.
    oldsod

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Using the Clean tool breaks my internet access

    Quote Originally Posted by oldsod View Post
    Try in cmd (as admin) this

    pnputil -e

    lookfor any za driver in the list.

    try in cmd (as admin) this

    netshell winsock reset

    Also look at the properties of the network adapter for any listing of ZA.
    And make sure the correct or default DNS are listed in the IPv4 and IPv6 properties.

    Just a shot in the dark.
    Thanks oldsod! Sorry, I had to leave for a business trip, so I didn't get a chance to try any of this yet. I just came back, and I will try it out in the next few days, when I get a chance.

    I am wondering if the 2 commands to run in cmd (as admin) should be run before or after the clean tool is run? Also, what am I supposed to do once I have run those commands?

    Thanks again.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ZAAV with Vista - Consent UI and Snipping Tool want Internet Access?
    By akajohndoe in forum ZoneAlarm Anti-virus & Anti-spyware
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: May 8th, 2009, 02:33 AM
  2. Zonealarm Removal Tool gives me "Internet Access Monitor" error.
    By lalittle in forum ZoneAlarm Installation
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 26th, 2009, 06:21 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 31st, 2005, 05:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •